Rural & Northern Immigration Pilot Program

The Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot program is a community-driven program that has been designed to promote economic immigration to smaller communities by creating a path to permanent residency for skilled foreign workers.

Currently, there are 11 communities involved in the program, which are:

  • North Bay, Ontario
  • Sudbury, Ontario
  • Timmins, Ontario
  • Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
  • Thunder Bay, Ontario
  • Brandon, Manitoba
  • Altona/Rhineland, Manitoba
  • Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
  • Claresholm, Alberta
  • Vernon, British Columbia (40 km radius includes Lake Country, Armstrong, Enderby, Coldstream)
  • West Kootenay Trail (Trail, Castlegar, Rossland, Nelson), British Columbia

The communities will assess each candidate who best fit the needs of the community, have a genuine employment opportunity and intent to live and stay in the community.  The community will also recommend candidates for permanent residency in Canada.

Who Can Apply

In order to be eligible for this program, you must meet all IRCC eligibility requirements including:

  • You must have relevant work experience: 1 year of continuous work experience in the last 3 years (1,560 hours) either inside or outside Canada


You must have graduated from a publicly funded post- secondary school in the community: 2+ year-long full time program

  • You must meet or exceed language requirements
  • You must meet or exceed educational requirements
  • You must prove you have enough money to support your move to the community
  • You must intend to live in the community
  • You must meet other community specific requirements

Our team of specialists will be happy to help you determine whether you qualify for immigration to Canada under the Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot Program.  Please complete our assessment below and we will contact you with your results.